ECHL announced the release of its 2018-19 regular season schedule!

St. John’s will drop the puck the 2018-19 Inaugural season on Friday, October 12th versus the Florida Everblades at Mile One Centre. The franchise will play its first road game on Friday, October 19th versus the Manchester Monarchs.

 “We are proud to bring professional hockey back to Newfoundland & Labrador”, said Glenn Stanford of Deacon Sports and Entertainment, “With the commitment to thirty-six regular season games at Mile One Centre we are excited to showcase the strong product that the ECHL has to offer to the hockey fans in our region.”

Other points of interest include:

o    The Inaugural season will conclude on the road Sunday, April 4th versus the Maine Mariners;

o    Of the 36 home games24 will take place on weekends, including eleven on Saturdays, ten on Fridays and three on Sunday afternoons. Of the remaining 12 home dates, six will take place on Tuesdays and six on Wednesdays;

o    The St. John’s Franchise will host North division foes 26 times; and, South Division rivals 7 times; 3 games will be played versus the western conferences’ Fort Wayne Komets;

o    The longest homestand for St. John’s is 7 games, which occurs twice, while the lengthiest stretch away from Mile One with 8 games occurs from Oct 19th– Nov 3rd. The busiest month of the season is March, when the club will play 15 contests;

o    St. John’s will be a part of the North Division which consists of the following teams: Adirondack Thunder, Brampton Beast, Maine Mariners, Manchester Monarchs, Reading Royals and the Worcester Railers;

o    St. John’s will play 3 games in 3 days at home twice during the season, February 8-10 versus the Fort Wayne Komets and March 8-10 versus the Orlando Solar Bears;

o    The ECHL schedule is comprised of 72 games with 36 to be hosted at Mile One Centre.

Game time for all home games is 7:00 pm NST, with the exception of the three Sunday contests which begin at 4:00 pm.

ECHL season tickets can be secured by placing a $50.00 deposit per seat (plus surcharge) at Mile One Centre box office, by phone at 709-576-7657 or online at For more information visit

About the ECHL

The ECHL began in 1988-89 with five teams in four states and, has grown into a coast-to-coast league with 27 teams in 21 states and one Canadian province for its 30th season in 2017-18. There have been 640 players who have gone on to play in the National Hockey League after starting their careers in the ECHL, including 17 who have made their NHL debuts in the 2017-18 season. The ECHL has affiliations with 26 of the 31 NHL teams in 2017-18, marking the 21st consecutive season that the league had affiliations with at least 20 teams in the NHL. Further information on the ECHL is available on its website at

Media Inquiries: 

Samantha Phelan / 709-727-8229

Ken O’Leary / 709-699-0832